Legazpi City Mayor Noel E. Rosal took oath of office as the chairperson of the Bicol Regional Development Council (RDC) before President Rodrigo R. Duterte on October 28, 2019 at the Malacañang Palace. His appointment paper as Bicol RDC chairperson was signed last October 25.

Mayor Rosal, who has been a supportive and active member of the Bicol RDC, is committed to lead in coordinating and setting the direction of the region’s development efforts. Under his watch, he is hopeful to unite the Bicolanos through the development of its tourism industry with the tourism alliances between and among the provinces of Albay, Masbate, and Sorsogon (ALMASOR) and between and among the provinces of Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, and Catanduanes (Triple C). Small and medium enterprises and the development of high value crops like pili and cacao, supported by appropriate technologies and innovation, shall also be given attention through convergence of the government and private sectors. These industries will provide jobs to the Bicolanos to address high underemployment rate.

The RDC will push for the completion of major infrastructure projects. Among these are the Bicol International Airport, New Naga Airport, and Masbate Airport; the North-South Railway Project (South Long Haul), the Quezon-Bicol Expressway Project with extension to Legazpi City; and the Bicol Circumferential Road.

As the gateway to the Visayas and Mindanao, the improvement and modernization of Matnog port and all its ancillary facilities and services, onsite and offsite, will be pushed to prepare Matnog for the Sorsogon-Samar Bridge Link Project.

With Mayor Rosal’s appointment as its head, the Bicol RDC anticipates the appointment of a co-chairperson who will lead the private sector in the region towards the realization of the development priorities of the RDC. The nominees from the private sector are Engr. Benigno R. Elevado, geographic private sector representative (PSR) of Camarines Norte and Mr. Nicolas Beda A. Priela, Jr., PSR for Business. Pursuant to Executive Order No. 325, Series of 1996, in the event that the President appoints a chairperson from the government sector, the co-chairperson shall be selected from the private sector, and vice-versa.

Along with Mayor Rosal, President Duterte appointed the chairpersons of the RDCs of Cordillera, Central Luzon, Calabarzon, Mimaropa, Western Visayas, Northern Mindanao, Davao, and Caraga.

Approved for Release:

RDC Vice Chairperson