Luzon RDCom prepares for ASEAN integration

   The Luzon Regional Development Committee (RDCom) convened on October 22 at NEDA Region 3 in San Fernando City, Pampanga and discussed the preparations for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations [ASEAN] Economic Community (AEC) integration.

   Albay Governor Joey Sarte Salceda, Chairperson of the Luzon RDCom and Bicol Regional Development Council (RDC), presided the meeting. It was attended by the RDC Vice Chairpersons and NEDA Regional Directors of the Cordillera Administrative Region, Ilocos Region, Cagayan Valley, Central Luzon, CALABARZON, MIMAROPA, and the Bicol Region. Representatives from the Metro Manila Development Authority and United Nations Development Program were also present.

   The Luzon RDCom discussed the proposal to conduct a Luzon-wide workshop in January 2016 in preparation for the AEC integration. The action agenda will focus on five major topics on regional economic development, namely: (1) province-centric development; (2) agricultural productivity and resilience; (3) small and medium enterprise development in the global value chain;(4) tourism; and (5) green energy.

   The Luzon Spatial Development Framework (LSDF) 2015-2030 was reviewed. The highlights of the LSDF investment program include the proposal to relocate the national government center in Lucena City and the proposal to divide Central Luzon into two regions. The LSDF is a spatial development strategy that seeks to harmonize the regional spatial priorities and distinct role of each region, as well as areas for complementation that would bring about effective spatial and economic integration. The approved LSDF will be printed in December.

   The Luzon RDCom also endorsed “the local government unit guide in mainstreaming migration and development in local development planning and governance” to the Department of Interior and Local Government, Commission on Filipinos Overseas, and Sub-Committee on International Migration and Development; and, further, to the National Social Development Committee.