Bicol RDRRMC Proclaims Gawad KALASAG Winners

Gawad KALASAG or KAlamidad at Sakuna LAbanan, SAriling Galing ang Kaligtasan is a recognition scheme of the National Disaster Risk and Reduction Management Council (NDRRMC) to the exemplary contributions and initiatives of groups or individuals in the field of disaster risk reduction and management, and humanitarian action. The main objective is to strengthen the resilience and adaptive capacities of the nation to disaster risks.

On August 3 at Kanzo Restaurant, Legazpi City, 11 entries from different categories were proclaimed winners of the 2015 Regional Gawad KALASAG Award, to wit  :



 1  Provincial DRRMC of Sorsogon  Best PDRRMC
 2. Legazpi City DRRMC  Best CDRRMC (Component City)
 3. MDRRMC of Daet, Cam Norte  Best MDRRMC (1st-3rd Class)
 4, BDRRMC of Oro Site, Legazpi City  Best BDRRMC (Urban)
 5, Simon of Cyrene  Best NGO
 6. Bicol Regional Training and Teaching Hospital  Best Hospital
 7, DQ Liwag National High School, Vinzons, Cam. Norte  Best School (Rural)
 8. Moreno Integrated School, Daet, Cam. Norte  Best School (Urban)
 9. Buraguis Learning Center, Legazpi City  Best Early Learning Center
10. Legazpi City Fire Station  Best Government Emergency Response Management
11.CINSP Achilles M.  Santiago, BFP (Individual Living)  Heroic Act

The winners received cash prizes and plaques of recognition, and are qualified for the national competition. Among these winners, four are eyeing the prestigious Hall of Fame Award given to those who have garnered a Gawad KALASAG award for three consecutive years in the same category. These are (a) Legazpi City DRRM council, (b) Barangay DRRM Committee of Oro Site, (c) DQLiwagNationalHigh School, and (d) Simon of Cyrene. Other Hall of Fame awardees which gave pride to the region are Albay PDRRMC, Child Sponsorship for Community Development Inc., and the MDRRMC of Sto. Domingo, Albay.

The awarding ceremony was led by Dir. Bernardo Alejandro IV, the chairman of the Bicol DRRM Council and regional director of OCD Region 5 together with the vice chairperson for response, Dir. Arnel Garcia of the DSWD; for rehabilitation and recovery, Dir. Agnes M. Espinas of NEDA; for prevention and mitigation, Assistant Dir.  Manuel Lucena of DOST, representing Dir. Tomas Briñas; and for preparedness, Mr. Olivio Ramirez of DILG, representing Dir. Eloiusa T. Pastor.

The awarding ceremony was simultaneously held during the culmination of the National Disaster Consciousness Month Celebration in July with the theme “Pamilya at Pamayanang Handa, Katuwang sa Pag unlad ng Bansa”.


       Standing with the Bicol RDRRM Council chairperson and vice chairpersons is the winner under the Best BDRRMC (urban) category – the Barangay   Oro site, Legazpi City.