Bicol RDC Nominates Officials

   The Bicol Regional Development Council (RDC), during its special full council meeting last August 17 (Wednesday), nominated its officials for the term 2016 to 2019. Section 5 of Executive Order (EO) No. 325 issued on April 12, 1996 provides that the RDC shall be jointly headed by a Chairperson and a Co Chairperson appointed by the President. The NEDA Regional Director shall be the ex-officio Vice Chairperson of the RDC and the NEDA Assistant Regional Director shall be the ex-officio Secretary of the RDC.

   Section 11 of EO 325 provides that the RDC shall nominate at least two local chief executives and two private sector representatives from whom the President of the Philippines shall appoint as Chairperson and Co Chairperson. If the Chairperson is appointed from the government sector, the Co Chairperson shall be appointed from the private sector and vice-versa.

   The Bicol RDC, however, only nominated Albay Governor Al Francis C. Bichara from the government sector as the local chief executives expressed solidarity and support to their nominee. From the private sector, Mr. John B. Abejuro and Mr. Jose M. Medina, Jr. were nominated.

   The President is expected to appoint the RDC chairperson and co chairperson the soonest time possible as part of his commitment to inclusive growth through regional development.


Seated from left: Gov. Bichara (Albay), Gov. Kho (Masbate), Gov. Rodrigueza (Sorsogon), Gov. Tallado (Camarines Norte) and Mayor Rosal (Legazpi City).